Job Title: Entrepreneur

December 16, 2009

I am currently indulging in The Art of the Start by Guy Kawasaki and I must say from page one, he has me intrigued.  In Kawasaki’s “Read Me First” section he says “The reality is that ‘entrepreneur’ is not a job title.  It is the state of mind of the people who want to alter the future.”  The way Kawasaki defines entrepreneur makes me think about how I would define entrepreneurship, and what it truly means to me.

When I hear the term “entrepreneur” I instantly think of a person that created a business.  An entrepreneur also manages their business, assumes the risk of their business, and financial supports or finds supports for their business as it is being created.  I love the idea of being an entrepreneur, but I could never be an entrepreneur for a living.  I would be a manager of a firm, the owner of an online marketing company, etc.

I like that Kawasaki stated that entrepreneur “is the state of mind” of a person.  It sparked my interest to see what everyone else is saying about what an entrepreneur is – here are some I found.

1.  www.entrepreneur.com “Definition: Someone who assumes the financial risk of the initiation, operation and management of a business” then it continues on with “Just who is an entrepreneur? Anyone who has ever looked at a problem and seen it as an opportunity…” This in a way reflects Kawasaki’s statement that an entrepreneur is something internal.

2. Wiktionary defines entrepreneurship as “the art or science of innovation and risk-taking for profit in business.” I liked this definition because they call it an “art or science.”  This also shows that entrepreneur is not a job title  but something that is a “state of mind” that makes a business profitable.

The simple definition, the one I hate is an entrepreneur is “someone who starts a business.”  Kawasaki has opened my eyes and made me realize this isn’t true.  I think anyone can start a business, but it takes an entrepreneur to make a business successful. I think being an entrepreneur is something prestigious, and with the definition used from “The Art of the Start” that is exactly what Guy Kawasaki makes it out to be.

Leave a Reply

