My Holiday Shopping is Easy Thanks to Social Media

December 9, 2009

A few weeks ago I was stumped on what to get my family for the holidays.  Each family member is so different, but I figured if I went out and bought a bunch of Target gift cards, I would be okay. BUT – that’s boring! I love to shop for the holidays, I’m just not a big fan of calling everyone to see what they want.  I prefer the element of surprise.

Yesterday, I longed onto Facebook and realized I had some members talking about what they wanted, even links to where you can purchase these items.  Additionally, I discovered a Facebook Application called “My Wish List” which enables users to create a wish list at Amazon and make it public. Things are now getting simple for me!

The best part about my holiday shopping, if I’m stumped on my brother or father or grandparents, there are 100’s of 1,000’s of blogs to help me track down the perfect gift.  Most blogs have a review for the product and a direct link to where I can purchase it.  Sites like Squidoo make holiday shopping so much simpler!

Time to Shop!

P.S. At my communications seminar I attended last week, I heard a rumor that Facebook might be coming out with a Facebook “mall.”  This “mall” would allow Facebook users to purchase different products from 100’s of 1,000’s of companies that promote their goods through Facebook.  Maybe by the 2010 Holiday Season, Facebook will be our one stop shopping spot!

Leave a Reply

